ARLINGTON HEIGHTS SCHOOL DISTRICT 25 1200 S. Dunton Ave. Arlington Heights, Illinois 60005

School Board Organizational Meeting Minutes April 27, 2017

David Page, President, called the organizational meeting to order at 7:39 p.m. The meeting was held at Dryden Elementary, 722 S. Dryden Place, Arlington Heights, Illinois.

Board members present: David Page, Diana Chrissis, Brian Cerniglia, Rich Olejniczak, Erin Johannesen, and Chuck Williams.

Board Members excused: Denise Glasgow

Others Present: Dr. Lori Bein, Superintendent; Dr. Eric Olson, Assistant Superintendent for Student Learning; Jake Chung, Assistant Superintendent for Personnel and Planning; Ryan Schulz, Director of Facilities Management; Chris Fahnoe, Director of Technology and Assessment; Adam Harris, Communications Coordinator; Debbie Williams, recording secretary; press, staff and community.

Acceptance Of Canvass Election Results

Ms. Chrissis read the Resolution for the Canvass of the Election and Motion to Elect Board Members (those Receiving the Highest Number of Votes in the April 4, 2017 Election).

BE IT AND IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Board of Education of School District 25, Cook County, Illinois, that the attached Abstract of Votes of the election held on April 4, 2017 to elect four members for full four-year terms to said Board of Education is a true and correct canvass of the Certificate of Results of each precinct thereof as submitted to this Board by the election authority, the Cook County Clerk.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that said Abstract of Votes shall be signed by each member of this Board of Education.

THAT IT IS HEREBY FOUND AND DETERMINED that <u>Anisha Ismail</u> <u>Patel</u>, <u>Erin Johannesen</u>, <u>David Page</u>, <u>and Richard Olejniczak</u> received the highest number of votes cast for the four full four-year terms, and each has been elected a Member of the Board of Education of Arlington Heights School District 25.

Motion: D. Chrissis moved and B. Cerniglia seconded that the Board of Education adopt the foregoing Resolution. Roll call: B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; R. Olejniczak, yes; D. Page, yes; and C. Williams, yes. Motion carried 6/0.

Oath of Office

Mr. Cerniglia administered the Oath of Office to incumbents Erin Johannesen, David Page, and Richard Olejniczak, and new board member Anisha Ismail Patel.

<u>Appointment of President Pro Tem and Secretary Pro Tem</u>

Mr. Page asked for nominations for the appointment of President Pro Tem.

Motion: C. Williams moved to appoint Brian Cerniglia to serve as president pro tem. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 6/0/1. B. Cerniglia abstained.

As president pro tem, Mr. Cerniglia presided over the meeting and asked for a motion to appoint a secretary pro tem.

Motion: D. Page moved and E. Johannesen seconded to appoint Diana Chrissis to serve as secretary pro tem. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0.

Mr. Cerniglia asked for nominations for the office of president.

Motion: E. Johannesen moved and C. Williams seconded to appoint David Page as president for a one-year term commencing today, April 27, 2017. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0. David Page is declared and elected as president.

Mr. Page presides over the remainder of the meeting asking for nominations, one at a time for a vice-president, a secretary, and a recording secretary.

Motion: C. Williams moved and D. Chrissis seconded to appoint Brian Cerniglia as vice-president for a one-year term commencing today, April 27, 2017. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0. Brian Cerniglia is declared and elected as vice-president.

Motion: B. Cerniglia moved and D. Chrissis seconded to appoint Erin Johannesen as secretary for a one-year term commencing today, April 27, 2017. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0. Erin Johannesen is declared and elected as secretary.

Motion: C. Williams moved and D. Chrissis seconded to appoint Debbie Williams as recording secretary for a one-year term commencing today, April 27, 2017. Upon asking if there were any more nominations, and being none, nominations were closed. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0. Debbie Williams is declared and elected as recording secretary.

Adoption of Past Practices, Policies, Motions

Mr. Page asked for a motion to adopt past practices, policies, and motions.

Motion: B. Cerniglia moved and D. Chrissis seconded the motion that the Board of Education adopt past practices, policies, motions, etc. of the Board of Education.: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0.

Board Meeting Dates

Mr. Page asked for a motion to set the meeting dates and times for the 2017-18 calendar year.

Motion: B. Cerniglia moved and D. Chrissis seconded the motion that the Board of Education approve the school board meeting dates, times and locations for 2017-18 as presented. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0.

2017	Location	2018	Location
August 17	Dunton	January 18	Windsor
September 7	Ivy Hill	February 8	Windsor
September 21	Ivy Hill	March 15	Windsor
October 19	Ivy Hill	April 12	Windsor
November 16	lvy Hill	April 26	Windsor
December 14	lvy Hill	May 10	Windsor
		May 24	Windsor
		June 21	Dunton
		July 19	Dunton

Bank Depository

Mr. Page asked for a motion to approve the Resolution appointing the Treasurer and Assistant Treasures.

Motion: B. Cerniglia moved and D. Chrissis seconded the motion that the Board of Education adopt the Resolution appointing the Treasurer and Assistant Treasurers of the School District and the bank depositories for the period July 1, 2017 through July 1, 2019. Roll call: A. Ismail Patel, yes; C. Williams, yes; E. Johannesen, yes; D. Page, yes; B. Cerniglia, yes; D. Chrissis, yes; and R. Olejniczak, yes. Motion carried 7/0.

camed 770.	
The organizational meeting ended at 7:4 regular meeting business.	49 p.m. and the Board continued with the
Submitted,	
Debbie Williams Recording Secretary	
Approved: May 25, 2017	
David Page President Board of Education	Erin Johannesen Secretary Board of Education
Date minutes were available for public in	nspection: May 26, 2017

Date minutes were posted on District website: May 30, 2017